Pink Floyd RSS News Feed



We have 8 guests online
Visitors: 37818579
black strat book
Nick Mason Inside Out signed copy
Brain Damage and A Fleeting Glimpse
Latest News
Roger Waters and Nick Mason interview on BBC Radio, tonight Print E-mail
Written by Matt   
Thursday, 28 May 2015

BBC Radio 4 Front RowWith apologies for the short notice, tonight's episode of the BBC Radio 4 show, Front Row, includes an interview with Roger Waters and Nick Mason.

With the BBC's London offices a literal stone's throw from the site of the plaque unveiling this morning, at the University of Westminster on London's Regent Street, it is no surprise that they caught up with Roger and Nick on this special occasion. Having already heard the interview, we think you will enjoy it!

Front Row airs on the UK's BBC Radio 4 at 7:15pm BST. For those unable to hear it live, the show will be available in full on demand after broadcast. More information can be found here:

Pink Floyd honoured at London's Regent Street Poly today Print E-mail
Written by Matt   
Thursday, 28 May 2015

Pink Floyd plaque, University of Westminster, LondonThis morning, Pink Floyd were honoured with a permanent plaque affixed to the wall outside the University of Westminster (formerly the Regent Street Polytechnic), where Roger Waters, Nick Mason and Richard Wright met. Nick and Roger were both on hand this morning in front of an eager crowd, squinting in the sunshine at the building which is a mere stone's throw from the BBC's London Headquarters, and unveiling the plaque which will be a permanent fixture of the building now.

The pair were presented to the press, prior to doing their duties with the slightly windswept curtain, by Crown Estate's David Shaw, and the Vice Chancellor of the University of Westminster, Geoff Petts. As they pointed out, this is only the second plaque to be unveiled as part of the Regent Street Heritage Plaque scheme (the first is in Heddon Street marking the shooting location for Bowie's Ziggy Stardust cover). As well as press, a wide range of family, friends and colleagues were also there. These included Joe Boyd, Juliette Gale (Richard's first wife), Jill Furmanovsky and Robyn Hitchcock.

Shaw said: "The history of Regent Street is full of great pioneering events in the cultural history of the area. The forming of Pink Floyd here at the Regent Street Polytechnic is one of the most important moments in the history of British rock music deserving recognition by way of the erection of a Regent Street Heritage Plaque."

Petts followed with: "The University of Westminster is always proud to pay tribute to the achievements of our alumni. We are delighted to be associated with the global success of Pink Floyd and celebrate that today with the unveiling of this plaque on Regent Street made possible by the generosity and vision of The Crown Estate."

We bring you the first of our pictures here, and shortly will share more, along with our transcript of the unveiling speeches from Shaw, Petts, Waters and Mason. Roger and Nick were both in fine form, with some very amusing comments - as you'll see when you read it.

Pink Floyd plaque, University of Westminster, London Pink Floyd plaque, University of Westminster, London Pink Floyd plaque, University of Westminster, London

In the meantime, as a taster, here's a short NBC news report:

Last Updated ( Thursday, 28 May 2015 )
Roger Waters and Nick Mason - you ask the questions! Print E-mail
Written by Matt   
Saturday, 23 May 2015
Roger Waters The Wall Live - cinema screenings

Now posted on Roger Waters' Facebook page is a very special opportunity for us fans to be able to pose questions for the Q&A that follows the screening of Roger Waters The Wall on September 29th at cinemas in various countries. More details of the worldwide, one-night-only screenings through this link.

In a new post, under the heading of The Simple Facts: A Dinner with Nick and Roger, they give details of what's happening after the screening of the concert film. "The PINK FLOYD rhythm section will reunite over the breaking of bread and the answering of questions sent in by you, the fans. ROGER WATERS and NICK MASON, two of the original members of Pink Floyd, will convene for what is sure to be a memorable reunion. In the hopes of having a few laughs, and, in response to your questions, they will rummage through the overstuffed cupboard of skeletons and faulty recollections, hopefully using the opportunity to clear up some of the mysteries before old Father Time, and Davy Jones Locker claim their due, and All That You Touch and All That You See, slides ungentle, into that dark night.

"Maybe for the last time, straight from the horse’s mouth, from the engine room, from the endless toil of stoking the great boilers, leaning weary on their shovels, THE RHYTHM SECTION, their faces grimed with coal dust, lined but open, mopping their honest brows with colorful kerchiefs. NICK and ROGER bring you…..THE SIMPLE FACTS!

"Do you have a question? If you do follow the instructions below and it VERY WELL may make it into the program shown in a CINEMA NEAR YOU, on September the 29th!"

1. Visit
2. Ask your question before 9AM EST on Wednesday 27 May

David Gilmour Firenze/Florence concert venue changes? Print E-mail
Written by Matt   
Saturday, 23 May 2015

David Gilmour 2015 tourJust announced by the local organisers in Firenze (Florence), Italy, is the move of a number of summer concerts due to be held at Le Mulina Teatro. Due to poor weather conditions affecting the venue, concerts for a number of artists - running from Limp Bizkit on June 13th, Patti Smith on June 18th, Einstürzende Neubauten on July 7th, right through to David Gilmour's concert on September 15th - have been moved to the nearby Ippodromo del Visarno.

This is sited a few hundred metres from Mulina, and tickets already purchased remain valid for the new venue.

UPDATE, 26th MAY: We've just heard that the above (which we heard from major news organisations in Italy) isn't necessarily the case - this news came as a surprise to David's management, who of course should have been involved with any such changes. We will keep you updated on this as appropriate.

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 26 May 2015 )
Amazon UKAmazon USAAmazon GermanyAmazon FranceAmazon Canada
Brain Damage on Facebook Follow Brain Damage on Twitter Brain Damage's YouTube channel
Pink Floyd Calendar
Pink Floyd on iTunes
Donate to Brain Damage
Behind The Wall book
Pink Floyd: Backstage book
HeYou Floyd Fanzine - order details - the Pink Floyd & Roger Waters news & info site
All content except where noted otherwise is © Brain Damage/Matt Johns 2014.
Please see 'About Brain Damage' page for legal details and the small print!
Website generously designed and built by 3B Web Design