Pink Floyd RSS News Feed


We have 14 guests online
Visitors: 95648004
Pink Floyd The Black Strat book by Phil Taylor
Nick Mason Inside Out signed copy
Brain Damage and A Fleeting Glimpse
Home arrow Older News Archive arrow Pink Floyd win The Polar Music Prize
Pink Floyd win The Polar Music Prize Print E-mail
Written by Matt   
Wednesday, 21 May 2008

polar music prize The Polar Music Prize is one of the most prestigious and unique music prizes in the world, crossing over musical boundaries and awarded to individuals, groups and institutions in recognition of exceptional achievements. Given by the Royal Swedish Academy of Music, it is the music world's equivalent of the Nobel Peace Prize.

The joint 2008 winners have today been formally revealed at the Stockholm Concert Hall - American soprano Renée Fleming and Pink Floyd!

In revealing Pink Floyd, the organisers said that the band win the award "for their monumental contribution over the decades to the fusion of art and music in the development of popular culture. Through extensive sonic experimentation they captured the mood and spirit of a whole generation in their reflections and attitudes..."

They continued: "Pink Floyd managed to evolve and create exciting music and albums over the years from Piper At The Gates Of Dawn to the monumental Wall they built in 1979. And also made us all discover the Dark Side Of The Moon. When rock'n'roll grew up Pink Floyd was foremost in shaping the sounds that would become known as progressive rock."

Our congratulations to each of the band members on winning this award! The prize will be awarded by His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf at the Concert Hall in Stockholm on August 26th.

Our thanks, too, to the many people who contacted us with this information.

< Prev   Next >
Brain Damage on Facebook Follow Brain Damage on Twitter Brain Damage's YouTube channel
Pink Floyd Calendar
Pink Floyd on iTunes
HeYou Floyd Fanzine - order details - the Pink Floyd, Nick Mason, David Gilmour
and Roger Waters news & info site
All content except where noted otherwise is © Brain Damage/Matt Johns 1999-2024.
Please see 'About Brain Damage' page for legal details and the small print!
Website generously designed and built by 3B Web Design