New Roger Waters album Is This The Life We Really Want - out June 2nd worldwide
Written by Matt   
Thursday, 20 April 2017
Roger Waters - Is This The Life We Really Want? 2017 album cover artwork

This afternoon the full announcement of the new Roger Waters album - his first rock album in 25 years, following on from 1992's Amused To Death - arrived, with the album, Is This The Life We Really Want? getting its global release on June 2nd.

The release on that date follows the start of his North American Us + Them tour, which begins exactly one week earlier on May 26th in Kansas City. Depending on the set list picked, the audience for the early shows may get a sneak preview of what is to come - Roger has already said that around 25% of the show will be new material...

The long-awaited album - the cover of which is to the left (click the thumbnail to see it rendered larger) is said to be "an unflinching commentary on the modern world and uncertain times. Waters' forthcoming LP serves as a natural successor to classic Pink Floyd albums such as Animals and The Wall".

Produced and mixed by Nigel Godrich (Radiohead, Paul McCartney, Beck, U2), Is This The Life We Really Want? includes 12 new Roger Waters musical compositions and studio performances. The physical album release includes a double 180-gram vinyl LP in a gatefold jacket and a 4-panel soft pack CD. All album formats, physical and digital, are available for pre-order from April 21st, and we have full details below to enable you to place your orders for the physical editions.

The musicians on the album are: Roger Waters (vocals, acoustic, bass), Nigel Godrich (arrangement, sound collages, keyboards, guitar), Gus Seyffert (bass, guitar, keyboards), Jonathan Wilson (guitar, keyboards), Joey Waronker (drums), Roger Manning (keyboards), Lee Pardini (keyboards), and Lucius (vocals) with Jessica Wolfe and Holly Proctor.


  1. When We Were Young
  2. Déjà Vu
  3. The Last Refugee
  4. Picture That
  5. Broken Bones
  6. Is This The Life We Really Want?
  7. Bird In A Gale
  8. The Most Beautiful Girl
  9. Smell The Roses
  10. Wait For Her
  11. Oceans Apart
  12. Part of Me Died

The lyrics for Wait For Her were inspired by an English translation by an unknown author of “Lesson from the Kama Sutra (Wait for Her),” by Mahmoud Darwish.

With many of you out there committed vinyl enthusiasts, we're sure that edition will be a very popular release. Thus, below we list dedicated ordering links for the vinyl AND the CD editions - using these will give a small but vital contribution to the running costs of Brain Damage, without costing you a penny/cent extra, and we really appreciate it!

IS THIS THE LIFE WE REALLY WANT? CD:  Amazon UK  Canada  Germany  France  Italy  Spain 
IS THIS THE LIFE WE REALLY WANT? 180g 2LP VINYL:  Amazon UK  Canada  Germany  France  Italy  Spain 

NOTE: Some of the stores above are yet to list the releases as available to buy but the pages are there for when they do. If your chosen store doesn't have it yet, please keep trying, or consider an alternate store - Amazon ship vinyl worldwide.