The Making of Bryan Ferry's Olympia, including David Gilmour
Written by Matt   
Sunday, 17 October 2010

Bryan Ferry - OlympiaBack in July, we told you about the new Bryan Ferry studio album, "Olympia", which is to be released on October 25th, and includes musical contributions from the likes of Nile Rodgers, Groove Armada, Scissor Sisters, Flea, Jonny Greenwood, and David Gilmour. It also sees Bryan reunited on record with members of Roxy Music, including Brian Eno, Phil Manzanera, and Andy Mackay, for the first time since "For Your Pleasure" in 1973.

Named after the area of London where his studio is situated, "Olympia" comes in four different editions, as detailed below (along with ordering details). To get a great taste of the album, you can hear "Song To The Siren" online now, through this site, and after you've given it a listen (and it's a great track - Gilmour's guitar to the fore, alongside that classic Roxy sound), check out this "Making Of Olympia" video, which has just been released, and shows the musicians (including David) in the studio recording "Siren":

The full track-listing for the album is:

1. You Can Dance
2. Alphaville
3. Heartache By Numbers
4. Me Oh My
5. Shameless
6. Song To The Siren
7. No Face, No Name, No Number
8. BF Bass (Ode To Olympia)
9. Reason Or Rhyme
10. Tender Is The Night

For those of you wanting to snap this up, it comes in four different versions:

- standard CD edition
- vinyl edition
- CD/DVD version, with three bonus tracks: Whatever Gets You Through The Night / One Night / Move Closer
- 'deluxe' CD/DVD version, in a 40 page deluxe hardback book format with a 13 track CD, a remix CD and a DVD including the video for 'You Can Dance', behind the scenes of the album photoshoot, and track by track interviews with Bryan Ferry and featured album guests (although we don't know if this includes David Gilmour amongst the interviewees).

You can order the album through the following special links:

  Amazon UK Amazon US Amazon CA Amazon DE Amazon FR
Standard CD £8.93 $12.88 $15.99 €15.99 €14.99 £8.95 £8.99
Vinyl edition £21.99 $18.03 $23.99 €26.99 €18.45 N/A  N/A
CD/DVD set £12.93 $16.99 $15.99 €17.99 €16.45 £12.99 £12.99
Deluxe CD/DVD £44.99 $102.49 $104.99 €60.99 €50.95 £51.99 £44.99

As these and other retailers get the various editions, we will add to this table. The prices and availability are correct as at October 17th. Our thanks to Werner Haider of the Pulse&Spirit site for the info on the audio stream...