An Introduction to Syd Barrett: US edition
Written by Matt   
Friday, 01 October 2010

An Introduction to Syd Barrett CD - 2010As we told you back in August, 'An Introduction to Syd Barrett' is released by EMI/Harvest Records, next week. It is a brand new collection that will bring together for the first time the tracks of Pink Floyd and Syd Barrett on one compilation.

This release (full details below) will include the previously-unreleased 20-minute instrumental 'Rhamadan'. Produced by former Pink Floyd and Syd co-manager Peter Jenner, the list of musicians is lost in the mists of time, though it's rumoured to include congas by Steve Peregrine Took of Tyrannosaurus Rex. It is to be offered as an extra downloadable track with the CD (via an auxiliary website), and also the iTunes version of the album.

Preorders for the album have been ongoing since it was announced, with some retailers offering it at a very reasonable 44% off the recommended retail price, at through this direct link. You can also order it from, Amazon UK, Amazon France, and Amazon Germany. and were previously just offering it as an expensive import, but have now just started offering it as a North American edition at a good price (albeit with a slightly later release date). We thought we'd best let you know in case you'd already ordered the import edition!

David Gilmour, who originally worked with Syd Barrett on the solo albums by co-producing 'The Madcap Laughs' and as producer of 'Barrett' has taken the role of executive producer for the album and has, along with Damon Iddins and Andy Jackson at Astoria Studios, remixed five tracks including Octopus, She Took A Long Cold Look (now renamed ...Cool Look), Dominoes and Here I Go on which David Gilmour has added and played bass guitar. Pink Floyd's Matilda Mother also receives a fresh 2010 mix. Brand new artwork has been provided by Storm Thorgerson and his estimable studio.

Here's the track listing of this album:

   1. Arnold Layne (2010 Digital Remaster)
   2. See Emily Play (2010 Digital Remaster)
   3. Apples And Oranges (2010 Digital Remaster)
   4. Matilda Mother (Alternative Version) (2010 Mix)
   5. Chapter 24 (2010 Digital Remaster)
   6. Bike (2010 Digital Remaster)
   7. Terrapin (2010 Digital Remaster)
   8. Love You (2010 Digital Remaster)
   9. Dark Globe (2010 Digital Remaster)
  10. Here I Go (2010 Remix)
  11. Octopus (2010 Mix)
  12. She Took A Long Cool Look (2010 Mix)
  13. If It's In You (2010 Digital Remaster)
  14. Baby Lemonade (2010 Digital Remaster)
  15. Dominoes (2010 Mix)
  16. Gigolo Aunt (2010 Digital Remaster)
  17. Effervescing Elephant (2010 Digital Remaster)
  18. Bob Dylan Blues (2010 Digital Remaster)
  Extra download: Rhamadam (available on purchase of CD or iTunes download)

We're intrigued as to how the new mixes and remasters sound; in terms of tracks selected, it is a nice mix of band stuff and solo material, and will indeed prove an interesting introduction to Barrett and his music for the newcomer. Many fans will be buying this, of course, for the additional download available of the 20-minute Rhamadam...